Welcome to our FAQ. Choose a question below or view all.
Question: Is the $125 per person or per boat?
Answer: The price of $125 is per person over 15. Kids 15 and under pay $110.
Question: Do tours always go out at the same time?
Answer: Not exactly. We schedule our tours according to several factors, mainly tide. Weather and time of year (lenght of days) can also affect tour times.
Question: Do I need a boating license?
Answer: Florida law states anybody born after 1987 must have a national boating safety card to operate a boat in Fl waters. There are some exeptions. One major exeption is if someone who is over 18 and either has the card or is exempt (for example was born in 1987 or before) is in the boat with the driver. Here are the Florida exemptions:
An operator who is accompanied onboard by a person who is at least 18 years old and possesses the required Boating Safety Education Identification Card, provided that person is attendant to and responsible for the safe operation of the vessel.
An operator who is accompanied onboard by a person who is exempt from the educational requirements provided that person is attendant to and responsible for the safe operation of the vessel.
A non-resident who has in their possession proof that they have completed a NASBLA-approved boater safety course or equivalency examination from another state.
You can get a boater safety card quickly and easily at Boat Ed
Question: Should I bring a cooler?
Answer: Each boat has a small cooler with two bottled waters. There is plenty of cooler space for more beverages and a snack so in most cases you will not need to bring a cooler.
Question: What if it rains or if it's windy?
Answer: Small showers and sprinkles are fine-we still do our tour as long as winds aren't too bad. We can take our boats out right up to about 20 mph winds. AT 20 or higher, the Coast Guard issues a small craft advisory and we cannot go out. If we have storms or high winds then we'll try to reschedule you. If that is not possible we'll issue a full refund and hope to see you next time!
Question: Can kids drive the little boats?
Answer: Though we're a guided tour Florida law considers us a rental because you drive the boat. The law says that anybody 16 or older can drive a rental boat but anybody born after 1987 must have a boater safety card. You can get one quickly and easily at Boat Ed
Question: Where do we meet you? How about parking?
Answer: Our tours leave from the Goodland Boating Park, at 750 Palm Point Drive, Goodland. They are charging $10 to park if you do not have a Collier county parking sticker. For that reason we provide free parking one block from the boat park at our house on Coconut Ave in Goodland. Your confirmation email will contain all the directions.
Question: How fast do the boats go?
Answer: Our boats, called Craigcats, use small outboard motors and we go about 20-15 miles per hour through the water. The boats have bucket seats and drink holders. They are very easy to operate. We have had people that have never been on a boat before operate them with no issues.
Question: What if we have an odd number of people?
Answer: WE will provide a boat for single people in the group. You do not have to have an even number of people in the group. If there is an odd number, we cancel one seat for the tour so that nobody rides with a stranger.
Question: Where does the tour go?
Answer: We wind our way through a part of the 10,000 islands and make our way to a barrier island called White Horse Key. We are there for about 30-40 minutes. There is a sandy beach for swimming or you can go shelling or even bring a fishing pole!
Question: What should I wear and bring?
Answer: You should check and dress for the weather. Usually a bathing suit and cover up or light clothing will do it. You may want to swim at the island. Bring water shoes or sandals/flip flops. Your feet are going to get wet. You may want to bring sun screen and bug spray though the bugs are usually not bad where we go.
You can bring some beverages (alcohol is ok) and a snack if you like. There is a bottled water for each person and cooler space on the boat. Bring a camera!
Question: Do you go to the Dome Homes?
Answer: We can take you to the dome homes on request only if wind speeds are 8 mph or less. If winds are higher you must be prepared to do the regular tour to White Horse Key.